Sunday, March 19, 2023

Latest Posts

Croatia Joins Schengen And Eurozone

Croatia entered among the Schengen Area countries from 1 January 2023. The country also became the 20th country in the Eurozone.
Croatia, a member of the European Union (EU), started using the Euro instead of the national currency Kuna as of January 1. The country is also included in the Schengen Area.

Controls on crossings from Slovenia and Hungary border gates to Croatia were ended as of midnight. Slovenia and Hungary have been among the Schengen Area countries since 2007.

Croatian Minister of Interior Davor Bozinovic and Minister for Administrative Affairs Sanja Ajanovic Hovnik Bregana watched the end of the checks at the border crossing at midnight.

Minister Bozinovic evaluated Croatia’s entry into the Schengen Area as “the final affirmation of our European identity, which has been achieved by generations of Croats by fighting.”

Those in the last vehicle to cross the Slovenia-Croatia border before the controls were lifted gave Croatian border officials a teddy bear to commemorate the day the country was included in the Schengen Area.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss